The Knuckey Cup

The Knuckey Cup is South Adelaide Football Club's highest individual honour awarded to the best and fairest league player at the end of each season.

The Cup takes it's name from Charles Kingscote Knuckey, a long-serving administrator at the club, who donated the inaugural cup to the Club in 1923. Thus beginning a tradition which has continued every year since (with the exception of 1941-44 when competitions were suspended due to WWII), making it the oldest award of its kind in the SANFL. Charles Knuckey also personally presented the Cup to the winner every year until his death in 1988, with only illness or absence preventing him from doing so.

The first Knuckey Cup was presented to Dan Moriarty, one of the greatest football players in the history of the game and still the only man to win three consecutive Magarey Medals.

In the 90 plus years the Knuckey Cup has been awarded many champions have had their names etched into the history books at South Adelaide. including the likes of Frank Tully, Jim Deane, Peter Darley, Mark Naley, David Kappler, Nick Liddle and Joel Cross.

Darley has won the Cup a record seven times, with Deane not far behind with six Cups of his own. 

Check out the full list of Knuckey Cup winners below







1923 D.Moriarty 1959 R. Jackson 1993 M. Dilion
1924 Al. Ryan 1960 D.J. Panizza 1994 C. Whittman
1925 W.G. Oliver 1961 D. Kantilla 1995 J. Polkinghorne
1926 W.G. Oliver 1962 D. Kantilla 1996 A. Osborn
1927 W.H. Jackson 1963 P.M. Darley 1997 J. Polkinghorne
1928 A.J. Ryan 1964 P.M. Darley 1998 D. Taibot
1929 F.J. Tully 1965 R.D. Schmidt 1999 K. Cobb
1930 F.J. Tully 1966 P.M. Darley 2000 D.M. Tailbot
1931 S.R. Jaffer 1967 P.M. Darley 2001 D.A. Morgan
1932 C.R. Rose 1968 P.M. Darley 2002 C.T. Sampson
1933 F.J. Tully 1969 M. Coombe 2003 C.P. Hall
1934 J. Cockburn 1970 L. Backman 2004 C. King
1935 F.J. Tully 1971 P. Hines 2005 M. Davis
1936 G.L, Mulcahy 1972 P.M. Darley 2006 R. Archard
  J.P Daws 1973 P.M. Darley 2007 S. Mcglone
1937 J.P. Daws 1974 D.R. Young 2008 J. Boyd
1938 L.W. Cahill 1975 A.M. Keddie 2009 M. Sandery
1939 L.W. Cahill 1976 R.K. Hateley 2010 N. Liddle
1940 M.A. Murdy 1977 G.P. Baynes 2011 J. Cross
1941 J. Cockburn 1978 G.P. Baynes 2012 n. Liddle
1945 M.J. Doherty 1979 G.P. Baynes 2013 N. Liddle
1946 K. Brown 1980 S. Butler 2014 K. Brooksby
1947 AD. Hickenbolhem 1981 R. Hawkins 2015 J. Cross
1948 J.G. Deane 1982 R. White 2016 J. Cross
1949 J.G. Deane 1983 R. Hawkins   B. Seccull
1950 R.A. Linke 1984 M. Naley    
1951 J.G Deane 1985 D. Kappler    
1952 R.A. Linke 1986 D. Troy    
1953 J.G. Deane 1987 D. Kappler    
1954 R.A. Linke 1988 D. Kappler    

D.J. Polden

1989 M. Whitford
1956 J.G. Deane 1990  D. Trevena    
1957 J.G. Deane 1991 D. Kappler    
1958 G. Christie 1992 m. Grummet    


2017 Fixture

Round 16

South Adelaide vs Eagles
Venue: Hickinbotham Oval
Time: 2:10pm, SATURDAY August 12

Round 17

South Adelaide vs Sturt
Venue: Peter Motley Oval
Time: 2:10pm, SATURDAY August 19

Round 18

South Adelaide vs Adelaide
Venue: Hickinbotham Oval
Time: 2:10pm, SATURDAY August 26

Club contact details

Address: 1 Lovelock Drive, Noarlunga Downs SA 5168

P: (08) 8186-8200 | F: (08) 8326-6800 | E:

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint