The Knuckey Cup is South Adelaide Football Club's highest individual honour awarded to the best and fairest league player at the end of each season.

The Cup takes it's name from Charles Kingscote Knuckey, a long-serving administrator at the club, who donated the inaugural cup to the Club in 1923. Thus beginning a tradition which has continued every year since (with the exception of 1941-44 when competitions were suspended due to WWII), making it the oldest award of its kind in the SANFL. Charles Knuckey also personally presented the Cup to the winner every year until his death in 1988, with only illness or absence preventing him from doing so.

The first Knuckey Cup was presented to Dan Moriarty, one of the greatest football players in the history of the game and still the only man to win three consecutive Magarey Medals.

In the 90 plus years the Knuckey Cup has been awarded many champions have had their names etched into the history books at South Adelaide. including the likes of Frank Tully, Jim Deane, Peter Darley, Mark Naley, David Kappler, Nick Liddle and Joel Cross.

Darley has won the Cup a record seven times, with Deane not far behind with six Cups of his own. Modern day star Nick Liddle is one behind Deane with 5 and Joel Cross with 4.  

Check out the full list of Knuckey Cup winners below



1923 D.Moriarty
1924 Al. Ryan
1925 W.G. Oliver
1926 W.G. Oliver
1927 W.H. Jackson
1928 A.J. Ryan
1929 F.J. Tully
1930 F.J. Tully
1931 S.R. Jaffer
1932 C.R. Rose
1933 F.J. Tully
1934 J. Cockburn
1935 F.J. Tully
1936 G.L. Mulcahy
  J.P Dawes
1937 J.P. Dawes
1938 L.W. Cahill
1939 L.W. Cahill
1940 M.A. Murdy
1941 J. Cockburn
1945 M.J. Doherty
1946 K. Brown
1947 AD. Hickinbotham
1948 J.G. Deane
1949 J.G. Deane
1950 R.A. Linke
1951 J.G Deane
1952 R.A. Linke
1953 J.G. Deane
1954 R.A. Linke
1955 D.J. Polden
1956 J.G. Deane
1957 J.G. Deane
1958 G. Christie
1959  R. Jackson
1960 D.J. Panizza
1961 D. Kantilla
1962 D. Kantilla
1963 P.M. Darley
1964 P.M. Darley
1965 R.D. Schmidt
1966 P.M. Darley
1967 P.M. Darley
1968 P.M. Darley
1969 M. Coombe
1970 L. Backman
1971 P. Haines
1972 P.M. Darley
1973 P.M. Darley
1974 D.R. Young
1975 A.M. Keddie
1976 R.K. Hateley
1977 G.P. Baynes
1978 G.P. Baynes
1979 G.P. Baynes
1980 S. Butler
1981 R. Hawkins
1982 R. White
1983 R. Hawkins
1984 M. Naley
1985 D. Kappler
1986 D. Troy
1987 D. Kappler
1988 D. Kappler
1989 M. Whitford
1990 D. Trevena
1991 D. Kappler
1992 M. Grummet
1993 M. Dillon
1994 C. Whittman
1995 J. Polkinghorne
1996 A. Osborn
1997 J. Polkinghorne
1998 D. Talbot
1999 K. Cobb
2000 D.M. Tallbot
2001 D.A. Morgan
2002 C.T. Sampson
2003 C.P. Hall
2004 C. King
2005 M. Davis
2006 R. Archard
2007 S. McGlone
2008 J. Boyd
2009 M. Sandery
2010 N. Liddle
2011 J. Cross
2012 N. Liddle
2013 N. Liddle
2014 K. Brooksby
2015 J. Cross
2016 J. Cross
  B. Seccull
2017 N. Liddle
2018 N.Liddle
2019 J.Cross


Latest News

Betta Teams: SANFL Round 2 - South Adelaide vs Glenelg

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 2 July 2020
Betta Teams: SANFL Round 2 - South Adelaide vs Glenelg
After a gritty win last week, the Panthers return to the home of Football in SA to take on reigning Premiers Glenelg.  While the Pant...
Posted in: SANFL Senior Football Teams Panthers Football Panthers News  

Betta Teams: SANFLW Round 6 - South Adelaide vs Centrals

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 2 July 2020
Betta Teams: SANFLW Round 6 - South Adelaide vs Centrals
The South Adelaide Women's team return to Flinders University Stadium for the first time since March to take on Central District.  ...
Posted in: Female Football Teams Panthers Football  

South Adelaide Co-captain faces an extended stint on the sidelines

Posted by South Adelaide Football Club on 1 July 2020
South Adelaide Co-captain faces an extended stint on the sidelines
South Adelaide Co-captain Matt Rose faces an extended stint on the sidelines following surgery today to repair a torn bicep tendon. Rose also s...
Posted in: SANFL Senior Football Panthers Football Panthers News  




  • 2. GLENELG






  • 5. STURT






  • 8. NORWOOD



  • SANFL Round 3

    South Adelaide @ Centrals
    Venue: X Convenience Oval
    Date: Saturday, July 11
    Time: 11:45 am
    Watch: Via Channel 7 or 7Plus

  • SANFLW Round 7

    South Adelaide @ West Adelaide
    Venue: Hisense Stadium
    Date: Saturday, July 11
    Time: 11:00 am
    Watch: Via SANFL Digital Pass

  • SANFL Round 4

    South Adelaide vs Sturt
    Venue: Flinders University Stadium
    Date: Saturday, July 18
    Time: 2:10 pm
    Watch: Via SANFL Digital Pass


Club contact details

1 Lovelock Drive,
Noarlunga Downs SA 5168

P : (08) 8186-8200
F : (08) 8326-6800
E :

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint