South Adelaide Football Club EST.1876

Joint major partners

Heritage Committee

The importance of history and tradition in the success and prosperity of football clubs cannot be overestimated.

For many years SAFC historian John Althorp performed a sterling job collating and recording memorabilia and writing historical articles.

In late 2014, a heritage committee was proposed to enable different areas of expertise and interest to be utilised.

This official subcommittee of the SAFC Board first met in February 2015 and began by defining its role and terms of reference.

Inaugural Committee members were Dr Randal Williams

(Chair), John Althorp, Dr Jack White, Bryan Ploenges, Peter Cochinos and the SAFC Board Chair (ex officio.)

There have been fluctuations in membership, with John Reid, Peter Cochinos and Peter Davey making valuable contributions along the way. The SAFC CEO was invited to represent the club at meetings, a role currently filled by Marketing, Media and Partnerships Manager Jonathon Parker.

The committee meets bimonthly and liaises with the SANFL History Centre and the historical groups of other SANFL Clubs. 

Achievements of the committee have included contributions to Panthers News, the purchase of a large trophy cabinet for the Club foyer, creation of the Frank Brown Door in the players locker room, introduction of the Frank Barry Medal for the best senior SAFC player in the Anzac Round and

preservation and displays of memorabilia both at the SAFC and the Adelaide Oval.  

A major initiative has been the collation of the names of all

players who have played at least one senior game since 1876, enabling these names to be included on a heritage guernsey. Profiles of these players are being developed with a view to public access via the SAFC website.  

Important functions of the Heritage Committee include advising on SAFC and SANFL Hall of Fame nominations, giving historical information to supporters and the media when required and providing annual reports to the SAFC Board.

New initiatives include a multi-author pictorial history planned for publication in the Club’s 150th year in 2026 and ensuring  representation and involvement of SAFC Women’s football.

2021 SAFC Heritage Committee

David Kelly (Chair)

Jonathon Parker

Dr Randal Williams

Dr Jack White

Dr Chris Haines

Malcolm Whitford

Jayden Bartlett

Andrew English

Craig Pett

John Althorp

SANFL Official App

Keeping up with all the latest Panthers news and info has never been easier. The new SANFL app is your one stop place for everything SANFL and South Adelaide.

Download the official SANFL App to stay in touch with the club while you're on the go, powered by REDARC Electronics.