South Adelaide Football Club EST.1876

Joint major partners

Home >  Blog >  Four Panthers Named in SANFL Team of the Year Squad 40-man Squad

Four Panthers Named in SANFL Team of the Year Squad 40-man Squad

Posted by South Adelaide Football Club on 5 September 2016
Four Panthers Named in SANFL Team of the Year Squad 40-man Squad

Four South Adelaide players have been recognised for their stellar play in 2016 with selection in the SANFL Team of the Year 40-man squad.

Ken Farmer Medallist Brett Eddy headlines the quartet, which also includes dual Magarey Medallist Joel Cross, emerging midfielder Brede Seccull and booming left-footer Tom Fields.

Players in the 40-man squad were nominated based on their form across the entire 2016 minor round.

All 10 SANFL clubs have at least one player selected in the squad of 40, with minor premiers Woodville-West Torrens leading the way with nine. AFL-listed players are only eligible for selection in the SANFL Team of the Year if they meet the league's requirements to be eligible for the SANFL Finals.

The squad will be trimmed to a final 21-player 2016 SANFL Team of the Year, including a captain, vice-captain and coach, will be announced during SANFL Grand Final week.

This year's team has been selected by the SANFL's General Manager Football Adam Kelly, Football Operations Manager Tom Hurley and Media and Publications Coordinator Zac Milbank, as well as Channel 7's Mark Soderstrom and The Advertiser's Chief SANFL Writer Warren Partland.

SANFL Team of the Year Squad of 40

South Adelaide - Brett Eddy, Tom Fields, Brede Seccull, Joell Cross

Woodville-West Torrens - Jared Petrenko, Luke Thompson, Chris Hall, James Boyd, Patrick Giuffreda, Lachlan McGregor, Nick O'Brien, Matthew Goldsworthy, Jarred Allmond

Sturt - Zane Kirkwood, Kory Beard, Mark Evans, Fraser Evans, Jack Stephens, Aidan Riley, James Battersby

Adelaide - Cam Ellis-Yolmen, Harrison Wigg, Reilly O'Brien, Jonathan Beech

Central District - Justin Hoskin, Chris Jansen, Travis Schiller, Luke Habel, Luke Barmby, Nick Holman

Port Adelaide - Kane Mitchell, Steven Summerton, Luke Reynolds

Glenelg - Willie Rioli, Josh Scott, Terry Milera, Christian Howard

Norwood - Sam Baulderstone

North Adelaide - Jordie McKenzie

West Adelaide - Chris Schmidt

Author:South Adelaide Football Club
Tags:SANFLSenior FootballPanthers FootballPanthers News

REDARC Official SAFC App

Keeping up with all the latest Panthers news and info has never been easier.

Download the official SAFC App to stay in touch with the club while you're on the go, powered by REDARC Electronics.