South Adelaide Football Club EST.1876

Joint major partners

Home  >  Blog  >  Montana McKinnon named to AFL Women's Academy Squad
Montana McKinnon named to AFL Women's Academy Squad

Montana McKinnon named to AFL Women's Academy Squad

9 November 2018

Young Panthers ruck Montana McKinnon has been named in the 2019 NAB AFL Women's Academy squads.

McKinnon, 17, is one of only two South Australian girls selected in the 48-player announcement by the AFL this afternoon.

Montana's selection adds to her rapidly growing list of football accolades.

Earlier this year she played a role in South Adelaide's inaugural SANFLW premiership, while also taking part in South Australia's U18 girls state campaign, earning SA's MVP and All-Australian honours.

As part of the academy, Montana will receive a NAB AFL Women's Academy scholarship that provides high performance camps and personal development opportunities over a 12-month period. 

The first of three camps will be held at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra from December 16, 2018.

Montana will also join AFLW club training sessions throughout the AFLW preseason.

AFLW Talent Manager Aasta O'Connor said after just two years the NAB AFLW Academy is achieving great results.

"At the recent NAB AFLW Draft, 19 Academy players joined AFLW clubs," Ms O'Connor said.

"With four further expansion teams entering the AFLW competition in 2020, the high performance coaching we provide these players is even more important."

The 2019 NAB AFLW Academy squad has been selected after the 2018 NAB AFLW Under-18 Championships by a newly formed AFLW Academy Advisory group which has representatives from AFLW clubs and AFL state bodies; Bree Brock (Brisbane Lions), Trent Cooper (Fremantle), Alan McConnell (GWS Giants), Darren Flanigan (AFL Victoria), Luke Power (AFL), Luke Brennan (AFL), Gary Nicholls (AFLW Academy), Nicole Livingstone (AFL) and Aasta O'Connor (AFL).

Level Two squad (born 2001 unless stated)

Lillian Doyle (Grafton, NSW/ACT)
Georgia Garnett (Kellyville/Rouse Hill Magpies, NSW/ACT)
Tarni White (Coorparoo, Qld)
Charlotte Hammans (Bond University, Qld)
Kitara Farrar (South Cairns Cutters, Qld)
Belle Dawes (Wilston Grange, Qld)
Dee Heslop (Yeronga, Qld)
Lily Postlethwaite (Moreton Bay Lions, Qld)
Serene Watson (Bond University, Qld)
Ellie Hampson (Hermit Park Tigers, Qld)
Jaimi Tabb (Woodville-West Torrens, SA)
Montana McKinnon (South Adelaide, SA)
Mia King (Launceston, Tas)
Millie Brown (Murray Bushrangers, Vic)
Sophie Molan (GWV Rebels, Vic)
Georgia Patrikios (Calder Cannons, Vic)
Britney Gutknecht (Northern Knights, Vic)
Molly McDonald (Dandenong Stingrays, Vic)
Lucy McEvoy (Geelong Falcons, Vic)
Isabella Shannon (Dandenong Stingrays, Vic)
Laura McClelland (Eastern Ranges, Vic)
Gabrielle Newton (Northern Knights, Vic)
Isabella Grant (Western Jets, Vic)
Cleo Saxon-Jones (Western Jets, Vic)
Lucinda Cripps (Dandenong Stingrays, Vic)
Emma O'Driscoll (born 2000, Swan Districts, WA)
Tayla Pescud (Swan Districts, WA)
Mikayla Bowen (Swan Districts, WA)
Roxanne Roux (East Fremantle, WA)
Courtney Hodder (born 2000, Peel Thunderbirds, WA)
Rosie Deegan (Subiaco, WA)

Level One squad (all born 2002)

Tarni Evans (Queanbeyan Tigers, NSW/ACT)
Zimmie Farquharson (Calamvale Leopards, Qld)
Annise Bradfield (Southport, Qld)
Alyssa Bannan (Northern Knights, Vic)
Olivia Barber (Murray Bushrangers, Vic)
Alice Burke (Sandringham Dragons, Vic)
Ellie McKenzie (Northern Knights, Vic)
Tyanna Smith (Dandenong Stingrays, Vic)
Olivia Meagher (Eastern Ranges, Vic)
Maggie Caris (GWV Rebels, Vic)
Isabella Simmons (GWV Rebels, Vic)
Tarni Brown (Eastern Ranges, Vic)
Isabelle Pritchard (Western Jets, Vic)
Abbey Dowrick (Subiaco, WA)
Brianna Hyde (Swan Districts, WA)
Mikayla Hyde (Swan Districts, WA)
Sarah Verrier (Peel Thunderbirds, WA)

About the Author:Matt Sampson

SANFL Official App

Keeping up with all the latest Panthers news and info has never been easier. The new SANFL app is your one stop place for everything SANFL and South Adelaide.

Download the official SANFL App to stay in touch with the club while you're on the go, powered by REDARC Electronics.