Home >  Blog >  South Trio Named in 2016 Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year

South Trio Named in 2016 Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year

Posted by South Adelaide Football Club on 21 September 2016
South Trio Named in 2016 Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year

Panthers stars Brett Eddy, Brede Seccull and Tom Fields have been rewarded for their stellar play in 2016 with selection in the 2016 Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year.

Brett Eddy spearheads a formidable forward line after claiming his first Ken Farmer Medal in a 2016 campaign that saw him slot 68 through the minor rounds. Brett's season tally bettered 2015 Ken Farmer Medallist Clint Alleway's total of 47 by 21 goals and included three bags of seven and a season-high haul of eight against West Adelaide in Round Three.

Brede Seccull enjoyed a breakout season in his fourth year in Noarlunga. The big-bodied midfielder averaged 23 touches per game, including a purple patch through the middle of the season that saw him claim four best on grounds in five games. His emergence in South Adelaide's engine room helped ease the workload of fellow star onballers Nick Liddle and Joel Cross.

Tom Fields shined in his return to the SANFL. After a season on Carlton's rookie list, which included two games at AFL level, "Fieldsy" brought his booming left boot and versatile game back to Hickinbotham Oval and enjoyed arguably his best year in the famous blue and white. Tom is now a 50-game player with the Panthers and his raking left leg is a fan favourite storming out of defence.

Named in the initial squad of 40, four-time Advertiser Team of the Year Member (2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015) Joel Cross was an unlucky omission from this year's final 22.

2016 Magarey Medallist Zane Kirkwood was named as Team of the Year captain, with Eagles skipper Luke Thompson named as his deputy.

Sturt mentor Martin Mattner was selected as coach. 


F: Travis Schiller (CD), Brett Eddy (SA), Mark Evans (S)
HF: Josh Scott (G), Kory Beard (S), Justin Hoskin (CD)
C: Kane Mitchell (PA), Zane Kirkwood (S), Nick O'Brien (WWT)
HB: Jarred Allmond (WWT), Fraser Evans (S), Matthew Goldsworthy (WWT)
B: Patrick Giuffreda (WWT), Luke Thompson (WWT), Tom Fields (SA)

R: Sam Baulderstone (N), Chris Jansen (CD), Jared Petrenko (WWT)
INT: Cameron Ellis-Yolmen (A), Brede Seccull (SA), James Battersby (S)

CAPTAIN: Zane Kirkwood (Sturt)
VICE-CAPTAIN: Luke Thompson (Woodville-West Torrens)
COACH:   Martin Mattner (Sturt)


Adelaide:  Reilly O'Brien, Harrison Wigg, Jonathan Beech
Central District: Luke Barmby, Luke Habel, Nick Holman
Glenelg:  Christian Howard, Willie Rioli, Terry Milera
North Adelaide:  Jordie McKenzie
Port Adelaide:  Luke Reynolds, Steve Summerton
South Adelaide:  Joel Cross
Sturt: Jack Stephens, Aidan Riley
West: Adelaide Chris Schmidt
Woodville-West Torrens:  Chris Hall, James Boyd, Lachlan McGregor

Author: South Adelaide Football Club
Tags: SANFL Senior Football Panthers Football Panthers News

Latest News

Throwback Betta Teams: Round 6 2016 vs Adelaide

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 3 April 2020
Throwback Betta Teams: Round 6 2016 vs Adelaide
South Adelaide will throwback to their iconic come from behind win over the Crows in Round 6, 2016 on Saturday afternoon.  Coming into Rou...
Posted in: Panthers Past SANFL Senior Football Teams Panthers Football Panthers News  

Vale Mervyn Temme

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 25 March 2020
Vale Mervyn Temme
South Adelaide are sadden by the passing of Life Member Mervyn Temme. Mervyn (Merv) began his journey with the Panthers in 1976 where he was th...
Posted in: Panthers Past SANFL Senior Football Volunteers Panthers Football Panthers News Panthers Community History  

COVID-19: Jimmy Deane's Bistro

Posted by South Adelaide Football Club on 23 March 2020
COVID-19: Jimmy Deane's Bistro
The South Adelaide Football Club advise that Jimmy Deane's Bar, Bistro and Gaming will suspend operations as part of the new COVID-19 measure...
Posted in: SANFL Panthers News Panthers Community Jimmy Deane's Panthers Events  
< Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | Next >








  • 4.STURT


  • 5. NORWOOD




  • 7. GLENELG





  • SANFLW Round 5

    South Adelaide vs Glenelg
    Venue: Hisense Stadium (Richmond)
    Date: Friday, March 20
    Time: 6:45pm

  • SANFLW Round 6

    South Adelaide vs Central District
    Venue: Flinders University Stadium (Noarlunga)
    Date: Friday, March 27
    Time: 6:30pm

  • SANFLW Round 7

    South Adelaide @ West Adelaide
    Venue: Hisense Stadium (Richmond)
    Date: Friday, April 3
    Time: 5:20pm


Club contact details

1 Lovelock Drive,
Noarlunga Downs SA 5168

P : (08) 8186-8200
F : (08) 8326-6800
E : reception@safc.com.au

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint