Home >  Blog >  Key quartet commit for 2020!

Key quartet commit for 2020!

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 7 November 2019
Key quartet commit for 2020!

South Adelaide has secured the signatures of four key senior players for the 2020 SANFL season.

Returning next season is 2019 Mark Rawlins Memorial Trophy winner (Runner-Up Best & Fairest) Joseph Haines, along with Co-Captain Matt Rose, Encounter Bay product Ben Heaslip and ever reliable defender Tyson Brown.

In a breakout year, Haines played his best season at league level averaging almost 23 disposals per game and was also selected to represent SA in the state game against WA in May. 

However, Haines 2019 campaign will best be remembered for a 'Leo Barry' mark late in the Round 10 match against the bays. 

Rose has also committed to the Panthers after his first season as Co-Captain where he averaged 22 disposals across the back flank. 

His 2019 got off to a bright start, by being named as a co-captain with Joel Cross thanks to the outstanding leadership he's displayed since coming to the Panthers from Port Adelaide in 2014.

Rose also was selected in the SANFL State Team that faced the WAFL in May, making it back to back state game selections.

South Adelaide Talent Pathway product Ben Heaslip will enter his sixth season at Noarlunga. 

He's played 57 league matches since his league debut in round 1 2015.

In 2019 Heaslip stepped up into a leadership role within the leadership group for the first time. 

Ever reliable defender Tyson Brown also inks a new deal which will see him enter into his 10th season at Noarlunga. 

In what was another extremely consistent year, Brown averaged 15 disposals and managed to play all 18 games injury free. 

South Adelaide welcomes back all four men and eagerly awaits seeing them back in blue and white in 2020!

Joseph Haines

Playing Record

2013 - Present
64 games
7 goals


Mark Rawlins Trophy (Runner-Up Best & Fairest) - 2019
Flinders University Most Improved Player - 2018
SANFL State Team Selection - 2019
Runner-Up Reserves Best & Fairest - 2016

Matt Rose

Playing Record

2010 - present
153 games (103 for South Adelaide)
43 goals


Mark Rawlins Memorial Trophy (Runner-Up Best & Fairest) - 2015
Best In Finals - 2016
Third Best & Fairest - 2017
SANFL State Team Selection- 2018 & 2019
Club Captain - 2019
Frank Barry Medal - 2019

Ben Heaslip

Playing Record

2014 - present
57 games
26 goals


League Best First Year Player (David Kantilla Memorial Trophy) - 2015
Flinders University Most Improved Player - 2017
Leadership group - 2019

Tyson Brown

Playing Record

2011 - present
65 games
11 goals


Flinders University Most Improved Player - 2016

These boys are #SouthProud in 2020, are you? 2020 Memberships now available!  

Author: Jonathon Parker
Tags: SANFL Senior Football Panthers Football Panthers News

Latest News

Throwback Betta Teams: Round 6 2016 vs Adelaide

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 3 April 2020
Throwback Betta Teams: Round 6 2016 vs Adelaide
South Adelaide will throwback to their iconic come from behind win over the Crows in Round 6, 2016 on Saturday afternoon.  Coming into Rou...
Posted in: Panthers Past SANFL Senior Football Teams Panthers Football Panthers News  

Vale Mervyn Temme

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 25 March 2020
Vale Mervyn Temme
South Adelaide are sadden by the passing of Life Member Mervyn Temme. Mervyn (Merv) began his journey with the Panthers in 1976 where he was th...
Posted in: Panthers Past SANFL Senior Football Volunteers Panthers Football Panthers News Panthers Community History  

COVID-19: Jimmy Deane's Bistro

Posted by South Adelaide Football Club on 23 March 2020
COVID-19: Jimmy Deane's Bistro
The South Adelaide Football Club advise that Jimmy Deane's Bar, Bistro and Gaming will suspend operations as part of the new COVID-19 measure...
Posted in: SANFL Panthers News Panthers Community Jimmy Deane's Panthers Events  
< Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | Next >








  • 4.STURT


  • 5. NORWOOD




  • 7. GLENELG





  • SANFLW Round 5

    South Adelaide vs Glenelg
    Venue: Hisense Stadium (Richmond)
    Date: Friday, March 20
    Time: 6:45pm

  • SANFLW Round 6

    South Adelaide vs Central District
    Venue: Flinders University Stadium (Noarlunga)
    Date: Friday, March 27
    Time: 6:30pm

  • SANFLW Round 7

    South Adelaide @ West Adelaide
    Venue: Hisense Stadium (Richmond)
    Date: Friday, April 3
    Time: 5:20pm


Club contact details

1 Lovelock Drive,
Noarlunga Downs SA 5168

P : (08) 8186-8200
F : (08) 8326-6800
E : reception@safc.com.au

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint