Home >  Blog >  Nick Liddle claims 2018 R.O Shearman Medal

Nick Liddle claims 2018 R.O Shearman Medal

Posted by South Adelaide Football Club on 6 September 2018
Nick Liddle claims 2018 R.O Shearman Medal

South Adelaide ball magnet Nick Liddle has been awarded the 2018 R.O Shearman Medal at last night's annual SA Football Hall of Fame and Magarey Medal dinner at Adelaide Oval.

Liddle racked up an impressive 99 votes to claim his first R.O Shearman Medal in emphatic fashion, polling 20 more votes than runner-up Matt Panos from Norwood (79). 

The fiery redhead enjoyed another stellar season with the Panthers, averaging a team-high 25.8 touches per game and kicking 17 goals through his 19 games in 2018.

The evergreen Liddle, who has now played 173 games for South since being recruited from Coburg in 2010, joins current teammates Joel Cross (2015 & 2017) as the only two South Adelaide players to be bestowed the medal since its inception in 2000.

Second-year Panther Abe Davis (52 votes) and ruckman Keegan Brooksby (45) also polled well to finish in the top 10 for voting.

The R.O. Shearman Medal is named after five-time Sturt premiership player Bob Shearman and recognises the player judged best afield by the league's coaches.

Starting in 2000, the R.O. Shearman Medal is voted by each SANFL senior coaches on a 5-4-3-2-1 vote system to judge best players following each minor round game they contest.

Liddle's consistent season was also recognised by the League's umpires, as he collected 22 votes in the Magarey Medal count to finish equal third from eventual winner Mitch Grigg (Norwood - 26 votes) and runner-up Travis Schiller (Central - 24 votes).

Big-bodied midfielder Davis also benefited from an injury free second season, polling 11 votes in his final five games to climb to fifth on the leaderboard, while co-captains Brooksby (10) and Cross (12) also attracted votes.

Earlier in the evening former South Adelaide General Manager and Glenelg stalwart, Harry Kernahan was inducted into the SA Football Hall of Fame. 

2018 R.O Shearman Medal winner Nick Liddle and wife Jess walk the red carpet ahead of last night's Magarey Medal count. Image: SANFL

2018 R. O Shearman Medal

  • Nick Liddle (South) 99 votes
  • Matt Panos (Norwood) 79 votes
  • Travis Schiller (Central) 77 votes
  • Mitch Grigg (Norwood) 76 votes
  • James Boyd (Eagles) 73 votes
  • Zane Kirkwood (Sturt) 59 votes
  • Kaine Stevens (West) 55 votes
  • Abe Davis (South) 52 votes
  • Matt Snook (Glenelg) 50 votes
  • Keegan Brooksby (South) 45 votes
  • Max Thring (North) 45 votes

2018 Magarey Medal

  • Mitch Grigg (Norwood) 26 votes
  • Travis Schiller (Central) 24 votes
  • Nick Liddle (South) 22 votes
  • James Boyd (Eagles) 22 votes
  • Abe Davis (South) 18 votes
  • Zane Kirkwood (Sturt) 18 votes
  • Matt Panos (Norwood) 18 votes
  • Kaine Stevens (West) 18 votes
  • James Battersby (Sturt) 17 votes
  • Max Thring (North) 15 votes
Author: South Adelaide Football Club
Tags: SANFL Panthers Football Panthers News

Latest News

Throwback Betta Teams: Round 6 2016 vs Adelaide

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 3 April 2020
Throwback Betta Teams: Round 6 2016 vs Adelaide
South Adelaide will throwback to their iconic come from behind win over the Crows in Round 6, 2016 on Saturday afternoon.  Coming into Rou...
Posted in: Panthers Past SANFL Senior Football Teams Panthers Football Panthers News  

Vale Mervyn Temme

Posted by Jonathon Parker on 25 March 2020
Vale Mervyn Temme
South Adelaide are sadden by the passing of Life Member Mervyn Temme. Mervyn (Merv) began his journey with the Panthers in 1976 where he was th...
Posted in: Panthers Past SANFL Senior Football Volunteers Panthers Football Panthers News Panthers Community History  

COVID-19: Jimmy Deane's Bistro

Posted by South Adelaide Football Club on 23 March 2020
COVID-19: Jimmy Deane's Bistro
The South Adelaide Football Club advise that Jimmy Deane's Bar, Bistro and Gaming will suspend operations as part of the new COVID-19 measure...
Posted in: SANFL Panthers News Panthers Community Jimmy Deane's Panthers Events  
< Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | Next >








  • 4.STURT


  • 5. NORWOOD




  • 7. GLENELG





  • SANFLW Round 5

    South Adelaide vs Glenelg
    Venue: Hisense Stadium (Richmond)
    Date: Friday, March 20
    Time: 6:45pm

  • SANFLW Round 6

    South Adelaide vs Central District
    Venue: Flinders University Stadium (Noarlunga)
    Date: Friday, March 27
    Time: 6:30pm

  • SANFLW Round 7

    South Adelaide @ West Adelaide
    Venue: Hisense Stadium (Richmond)
    Date: Friday, April 3
    Time: 5:20pm


Club contact details

1 Lovelock Drive,
Noarlunga Downs SA 5168

P : (08) 8186-8200
F : (08) 8326-6800
E : reception@safc.com.au

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint