South Adelaide Football Club EST.1876

Joint major partners

Home  >  Blog  >  Seven Panthers Named to Final U16 State Team
Seven Panthers Named to Final U16 State Team

Seven Panthers Named to Final U16 State Team

24 June 2016

Seven South Adelaide juniors have been named in the final squad of 25 for the McDonald's Under-16 State Team.

Under-16s players Eamon Wilkinson, Tate Coleman and Sam Whitbread have been named in the final team, as has brother of Panthers League start Emmanuel Irra, Robert Irra as an overage selection.

"Robert is an overager. He was injured last year and we think he will play really well," said SA U16s coach Darel Hart.

Meanwhile, son of former South captain, coach and Knuckey Cup winner Clay Sampson, Hayden Sampson, as well as Tom Sparrow and Jonty Manuel have been selected as emergencies.

Each of the SANFL's eight non-AFL aligned club's are represented in the squad of 29, with South leading the way with seven selections.

The connection with the Panthers goes even past South Adelaide players, as League regular Matt Rankine's younger brother Izak Rankine has also been selected from West Adelaide's junior program.

The AFL Under-16 National Championships will take place from Saturday June 25 to Friday July 8.

South Australia will play three matches; against Victoria Metro, Victoria Country and Western Australia.

Game 1 Saturday June 25 at 11.20am
SA v WA (Football Park) Adelaide

Game 2 Monday July 4 at 12.30pm (SA time)
SA v Victoria Metro (Metricon Stadium) Gold Coast

Game 3 Friday July 8 at 11.40am (SA time)
SA v Victoria Country (Southport) Gold Coast

See the final McDonald's Under-16 State squad below:

Jackson Hately - Central District
Jez McLennan - Central District
Tynan Carney - Glenelg
Ruben Finn - Glenelg
Will Gould - Glenelg
Brad Potter - Glenelg*
Liam Wisdom - Glenelg*
Connor Rozee - North Adelaide
Boyd Woodcock - North Adelaide
Jacob Kennerly - Norwood
Mihail Lochowiak - Norwood
Tyler Martin - Norwood
Isaac Saywell - Norwood
Luke Valente - Norwood
Tate Coleman - South Adelaide
Robert Irra - South Adelaide
Jonty Manuel - South Adelaide* 
Hayden Sampson - South Adelaide*
Tom Sparrow - South Adelaide*
Sam Whitbread - South Adelaide
Eamon Wilkinson - South Adelaide

Dougal Grieve - Sturt
Tom Lewis - Sturt
Hugo Munn - Sturt
Isaac Brill - Woodville-West Torrens
Sam Michael - Woodville-West Torrens
Jack Lukosius - Woodville-West Torrens
Kai Pudney - Woodville-West Torrens
Charlie Hay - West Adelaide
Izak Rankine - West Adelaide


About the Author:South Adelaide Football Club

SANFL Official App

Keeping up with all the latest Panthers news and info has never been easier. The new SANFL app is your one stop place for everything SANFL and South Adelaide.

Download the official SANFL App to stay in touch with the club while you're on the go, powered by REDARC Electronics.